

#### NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

### BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

2014-12-04

# **ELECTRONIC DISTRIBUTION**

# Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro

Mr. Geoffrey Young
P. O. Box 12400
Hydro Place, Columbus Drive
St. John's, NL A1B 4K7
E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

#### **Consumer Advocate**

Mr. Thomas Johnson
O'Dea Earle
323 Duckworth Street
P.O. Box 5955
St. John's, NL A1C 5X4
E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca

### **Island Industrial Customers Group**

Mr. Paul Coxworthy
Stewart McKelvey Stirling Scales
Cabot Place, 100 New Gower Street
P.O. Box 5038
St. John's, NL A1C 5V3
E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

# Towns of Labrador City, Wabush, Happy Valley-Goose Bay and North West River

Mr. Edward Hearn, QC Miller & Hearn 450 Avalon Drive P.O. Box 129 Labrador City, NL A2V 2K3 E-mail: miller&hearn@crrstv.net

### Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes
55 Kenmount Road
P.O. Box 8910
St. John's, NL A1B 3P6
E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com

## Innu Nation

Ms. Nancy Kleer Olthuis, Kleer, Townshend LLP 229 College Street, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Toronto, ON M5T 1R4 E-mail: nkleer@oktlaw.com

### Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, QC
Cox & Palmer
Scotia Centre, Suite 1000
235 Water Street
St. John's, NL AIC 1B6
E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com

## Yvonne Jones MP, Labrador

Yvonne Jones, MP Labrador
Ottawa
Confederation Building, Room 682
Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6
E-mail: Yvonne.Jones.A1@parl.gc.ca
Yvonne.Jones.C1@parl.gc.ca

Dear Sirs/Madams:

Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – Amended General Rate Application – Newfoundland Power and Hydro Rural customer rates, effective February 1, 2015

Hydro filed an amended general rate application on November 10, 2014 seeking, among other things, an Order of the Board approving revised rates for Newfoundland Power and Hydro Rural customers, effective February 1, 2015.

Hydro confirmed in correspondence, dated November 28, 2014, that it was seeking approval of these rates on an interim basis effective February 1, 2015 in advance of the conclusion of the general rate application. The Board notes that notice of the amended general rate application has not yet been published and that the rates proposed in the amended general rate application are significantly different than those proposed in the 2013 general rate application filed on July 30, 2013. For example, the July 2013 proposals resulted in an average overall rate decrease for Newfoundland Power residential customers whereas the amended application proposals would result in an average overall rate increase of 2.8% in 2015 for Newfoundland Power residential customers. Given the significant changes in the amended general rate application the Board believes that notice must be published before the proposals can be considered.

After notice is published the Board will schedule a counsel meeting to address further consideration of the request for approval of revised rates for Newfoundland Power and Hydro Rural customers and the flow through of any rate changes. At this stage it appears that a February 1, 2015 effective date is unlikely in light of the timeframe required for the implementation of revised rates at the retail level.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jgylnn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon
Board Secretary

/bds Encl.

ecc.

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro

Mr. Fred Cass, E-mail: fcass@airdberlis.com

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Liam O'Brien, E-mail; lobrien@curtisdawe.nf.ca

Consumer Advocate

Ms. Colleen Lacey, E-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca Mr. Doug Bowman, E-mail: cdbowman@netzero.net

Corner Brook Pulp and Paper Limited, North Atlantic Refining Limited and Teck Resources

Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited

Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com

Innu Nation

Mr. Senwung Luk, E-mail: sluk@oktlaw.com

Serco Canada Inc. 5 Wing Goose Bay

Mr. Robert Pilgrim, E-mail: rob.pilgrim@serco.na.com

Nunatsiavut Government

Mr. Tom Sheldon, E-mail; tom sheldon@nunatsiavut.com